Skip to main content

Definition of concepts

Selective collection
Differentiated collection of fermentable organic materials and recyclable materials, and any other system of differentiated collection that enables the separation of useful materials contained in waste.
Municipal waste
Domestic waste and waste from shops, services, offices and other waste that, due to its nature or composition, may be similar to domestic waste.

Methodological aspects

The European Union indicates that one of the areas of political action is waste management, in accordance with the basic principles of generating the minimum amount and managing it efficiently.

The availability of regular, representative and reliable data on the generation, collection and treatment of waste provides information describing the situation and state of waste, as well as making comparison between different territories possible.

The Catalan Waste Agency publishes annual data on the generation of municipal waste, on the basis of data provided by different local entities responsible for the collection and treatment of municipal waste.

From 2003, including for the calculation of generation per capita, the registered population has been used. In 2002, the Population and Housing Census 2001 was used, and in 2001 and 2000 the Population Statistics 1996 were used. Note that the seasonal tourist population supported by some municipalities has a higher generation of waste per capita.

In terms of selective collection, the difference between the total from adding the geographic partials (counties and areas of the territorial plan) and the total published for Catalonia is due to the existence of commercial waste that cannot be attributed to specific territories. The "Others" category includes waste electrical and electronic equipment (WEEE), batteries, medications, textiles, rubble and other special waste. Home composting, which was considered for the first time in 2012, has been included in the "Organic Material" category.

Current Territorial Distribution

At present, Catalonia is divided into 41 counties, 1 singular territorial entity (Aran) and 8 areas of the Territorial Plan, according to the latest territorial changes, which affect the areas of El Penedès and the Central Counties, Aran and El Moianès.

Provisional data.

Unavailable information is represented using the symbol ":". When the value is lower than that of the minimum unit to be able to estimate the statistical operation or if it effects statistical confidentiality, the symbol used is "..".