Skip to main content

Rural tourism. By categories. Tourism brands

Rural tourism. Establishments and beds. By categories. Tourism brands Catalonia. 2021
Country house
Shared Independent Masia Farm Total
Establishments 238 734 323 1,245 2,540
Barcelona 0 0 0 0 0
Paisatges Barcelona 9 68 37 211 325
Costa Brava 51 90 102 266 509
Costa Daurada 27 107 26 59 219
Costa Barcelona 11 35 42 98 186
Pirineus 100 292 85 490 967
Terres de l'Ebre 14 41 19 67 141
Terres de Lleida 18 91 12 54 175
Val d'Aran 8 10 0 0 18
Beds 2,492 4,843 3,866 9,297 20,498
Barcelona 0 0 0 0 0
Paisatges Barcelona 75 433 429 1,635 2,572
Costa Brava 540 700 1,254 1,928 4,422
Costa Daurada 294 782 295 455 1,826
Costa Barcelona 114 242 462 740 1,558
Pirineus 1,078 1,611 1,106 3,581 7,376
Terres de l'Ebre 125 298 206 457 1,086
Terres de Lleida 169 691 114 501 1,475
Val d'Aran 97 86 0 0 183
Source: Idescat, based on data from the Ministry of Labour, Social Affairs and Families.

Last update: September 5, 2022.

Statistics TURALL

Methodological note

Definition of concepts

Rural tourism
Form of tourism in accommodation located in the rural environment. They tend to be in contact with agricultural operations and buildings built before 1950 in accordance with the architecture of the zone. They have drinking water, electricity, heating, sanitary services and the appropriate furniture. They are classified into four groups: shared country house, independent country house, masia and masoveria.
Rural tourism. Shared country house
Single family house in a population nucleus that the owner shares with tourists and provides accommodation in the form of rooms and at least breakfast.
Rural tourism. Independent country house
Single family house in a population nucleus that provides accommodation services in the form of an entire house.
Rural tourism. Masia
Single family house outside of any population nucleus that the owner shares with tourists and provides accommodation in the form of rooms and at least breakfast.
Rural tourism. Masoveria
Single family house outside of any population nucleus that is rented out in its entirety.

Methodological aspects

Tourist establishments are disaggregated into hotel establishments, camp sites and rural tourism establishments, according to their category and capacity.

The information presented herein is fundamentally structural and focused on tourist offering. Given the characteristics of this sector, the information has been clustered for certain municipalities.

Until 1994 the source for this data was the General Directorate of Tourist Companies and Activities, belonging to the Ministry of Transportation, Tourism and Communications. Since 1995, the General Directorate of Tourism, belonging to the Ministry for Business and Labour of the Generalitat de Catalunya, has been in charge of publishing data on the registry of tourist establishments: hotel establishments, camp sites, rural tourism establishments and housing for tourists' use.

Until year 2003, Terres de l'Ebre tourism brand was included in Costa Daurada and Val d'Aran formed part of the Pirineus. At the end 2011, the Catalan Tourism Agency approved the creation of a new tourism brand called Costa Barcelona. This region includes the territory of the former Costa del Garraf and Costa de Barcelona-Maresme.

In 2015, two changes were made to the tourism brands, approved by the Catalan Tourist Board. The first change is that the counties El Vallès Oriental and El Vallès Occidental, which used to be a part of the Catalunya Central brand, as of 2015 will come under the Costa Barcelona brand. The second change is to the name of the brand: Catalunya Central will now be known as Paisatges de Barcelona.

On the occasion of the creation of El Moianès county, the municipalities of Castellcir, Castellterçol, Granera and Sant Quirze Safaja (which were part of the Costa Barcelona brand), from 2015 they become part of Paisatges de Barcelona brand.

Thus Catalonia is divided into 9 tourism brands:

  • Barcelona: Barcelonès.
  • Costa Brava: Alt Empordà, Baix Empordà, Gironès, Pla de l'Estany i Selva.
  • Costa Daurada: Alt Camp, Baix Camp, Baix Penedès, Conca de Barberà, Priorat i Tarragonès.
  • Costa Barcelona: Alt Penedès, Baix Llobregat, Garraf, Maresme, Vallès Occidental i Vallès Oriental.
  • Paisatges Barcelona: Anoia, Bages, Moianès i Osona.
  • Pirineus: Alt Urgell, Alta Ribagorça, Berguedà, Cerdanya, Garrotxa, Pallars Jussà, Pallars Sobirà, Ripollès i Solsonès.
  • Terres de Lleida: Garrigues, Noguera, Pla d'Urgell, Segarra, Segrià i Urgell.
  • Terres de l'Ebre: Baix Ebre, Montsià, Ribera d'Ebre i Terra Alta.
  • Val d'Aran: Aran.

Until 2011, the territorial disaggregation by tourism brands was calculated using special estimators for small areas. This methodology does not guarantee that the total amount is exactly the same as the result for the whole of Catalonia using the traditional estimator. However, the discrepancies are of little significance.

Current Territorial Distribution

At present, Catalonia is divided into 41 counties, 1 singular territorial entity (Aran) and 8 areas of the Territorial Plan, according to the latest territorial changes, which affect the areas of El Penedès and the Central Counties, Aran and El Moianès.

Unavailable information is represented using the symbol ":". When the value is lower than that of the minimum unit to be able to estimate the statistical operation or if it effects statistical confidentiality, the symbol used is "..".