Skip to main content

Definition of concepts

Legal union of two people of the opposite sex, determined by civil, religious or other means determinated by the national laws of a country. On July 3, 2005 Law 13/2005, of July 1 came into force, which allows marriages between people of the same sex.

Methodological aspects

The Marriages Statistics provide information on the number and characteristics of the marriages of residents of Catalonia entered into during a given year.

The original source of the data are the statistical bulletins on marriages involving people living in Catalonia and registered in civil registers.Until 2011, the data refers to the registrations made in Catalonia of people who reside there. From 2012 onwards, it includes all events involving residents in Catalonia who have been registered in other autonomous communities.

From 2012 onwards, the data is reported annually in two phases: the provisional data, based on events concerning residents registered with civil registries of Catalonia, and the definitive data, with events concerning all residents (including those registered with civil registries in other autonomous communities).

Current Territorial Distribution

At present, Catalonia is divided into 41 counties, 1 singular territorial entity (Aran) and 8 areas of the Territorial Plan, according to the latest territorial changes, which affect the areas of El Penedès and the Central Counties, Aran and El Moianès.

Unavailable information is represented using the symbol ":". When the value is lower than that of the minimum unit to be able to estimate the statistical operation or if it effects statistical confidentiality, the symbol used is "..".