Skip to main content

Union elections. Workers statute. Representatives elected. By trade union organisations. Counties and Aran, and provinces. Methodology

    Definition of concepts

    Union election
    Election process in which workers, both in private and public companies, or those in the service of public administrations, select their delegates to representative bodies, which play a fundamental role in collective bargaining and the determination of labour conditions.
    Person that satisfies the legal requirements to be able to exercise their right to vote.

    Methodological aspects

    Union elections are the election process whereby the representatives of the employees of a work centre are elected every four years.

    The employees of the company or place of work aged over 16, with more than one month in the company, can take part in the vote - which is free, personal, secret and direct - to choose their representatives.

    The workers' representative must be over 18 years of age, with at least six months in the company (unless where another limit, no less than three months, has been collectively agreed on due to personnel mobility).

    List of abbreviation and names of the unions that appear in the tables:
    CSIF Central Sindical Independent i de Funcionaris (Independent Trade Union Confederation of Officials).
    CCOO Confederacio Sindical de Comissions Obreres (General Workers' Confederation).
    UGT Unio General de Treballadors (Confederation of Workers' Commissions).
    USO Unio Sindical Obrera (Workers' Trade Union).
    CGT Confederacio General del Treball (General Confederation of Labour).
    IAC Intersindical Alternativa de Catalunya (Alternative Trade Union of Catalonia).

    Either worker's delegates or a workers' committee will be chosen, depending on the size of the company's workforce.

    The data on union elections with respect to the personnel to whom the Workers statute is applied and the civil servant regulations, on December 31.

    Current Territorial Distribution

    At present, Catalonia is divided into 41 counties, 1 singular territorial entity (Aran) and 8 areas of the Territorial Plan, according to the latest territorial changes, which affect the areas of El Penedès and the Central Counties, Aran and El Moianès.

    Unavailable information is represented using the symbol ":". When the value is lower than that of the minimum unit to be able to estimate the statistical operation or if it effects statistical confidentiality, the symbol used is "..".