Skip to main content

Definition of concepts

Non hospital centre or service
Centre or service that offers health care to patients that are not admitted to beds. Does not include external surgeries of hospital centres.

Methodological aspects

For the data on hospital equipment there are two sources, both from the Department of Health. First, there is the Register of Health Centres, Services and Establishments, which basically provides information related to the location in the territory of centres that have received the corresponding administrative authorisation (health and county map). A second source of data are the Statistics on Health Establishment with Internment Schemes (EESRI), which provide annual information on the structure, resources, care and economies of hospital centres located in Catalonia. The EESRI statistics have been generated since 1980 by the Department of Health and are coordinated on a state level in association with the Ministry of Health, Social Services and Equality.

Recently, Law 23/2010, of July 22, divides Catalonia into eight territorial planning areas with the incorporation of the Penedès region. This new territorial area includes the counties of Alt Penedès, l'Anoia, el Baix Penedès and el Garraf. In consequence, the territorial boundaries of the area of Metropolità, Comarques centrals and Camp de Tarragona are modified, and their data is therefore not directly comparable with previous years.

Current Territorial Distribution

At present, Catalonia is divided into 41 counties, 1 singular territorial entity (Aran) and 8 areas of the Territorial Plan, according to the latest territorial changes, which affect the areas of El Penedès and the Central Counties, Aran and El Moianès.

Unavailable information is represented using the symbol ":". When the value is lower than that of the minimum unit to be able to estimate the statistical operation or if it effects statistical confidentiality, the symbol used is "..".