Skip to main content

Methodological aspects

The presentation of the tables follows the typology of different areas of law within the Catalan and State judicial systems on December 31st:

  • penal
  • civil
  • administrative contentious
  • constitutional
  • social
  • family
  • youth

The Superior Court of Justice of Catalonia, constituted in 1989, is the highest judicial authority in the Catalan territory and has the ultimate word on all legal procedures, notwithstanding the authority corresponding to the Supreme Court.

The Superior Court of Justice of Catalonia (TSJC) has three courtrooms: the civil and penal, the administrative contention and the social courtroom. The administrative contention courtroom is divided into five sections.

Unavailable information is represented using the symbol ":". When the value is lower than that of the minimum unit to be able to estimate the statistical operation or if it effects statistical confidentiality, the symbol used is "..".